Going Well

Posted on

Just a short update today. It was March 2017 when I posted my last update and I haven’t been back to my blog since. Things are going well. I met with my consultant yesterday and my cancer is still under control. I’m classed as being in remission but strictly my cancer is still there, just its current levels are below those that register is a blood scan. This was excellent news for us.

Reading back on my previous posts around March, I realise now that I was going through a pretty low period although I’m not sure I recognised it at the time. Despite being stable since my transplant I still struggle to come to terms with the fact that my cancer is non-curable. I touched on it yesterday with my consultant, as I still have problems with fatigue and days feeling pretty lousy but I think having been on pain meds and chemotherapy for such a long time it’s understandable and just something I’m going to have to learn to live with. I think as well that sometimes people around me forget that I’m still dealing with cancer and some are shocked to find I’m still on high doses of pain relief and chemotherapy, although it is a small maintenance dose.

Not much has really happened since I last posted other than being told by the pain clinic that at present there is nothing more they can do about my pain levels. I’m already on high doses of pain relief so they don’t want to increase it and as for attempts with injections, I’ve reached the amount allowed to the NHS by the government so it’s not a current option. They’ve asked me to speak to a psychologist about setting goals and learning to live with pain and despite initially agreeing, I’ve decided against it. Its all a bit touchy-feely for me personally. My pain is what it is and I don’t think I really need a psychologist to tell me that I need to learn to live with it.

I’m happy to report though that things are pretty good and I’m feeling fairly positive at the minute. I’ve been keeping myself reasonably entertained by learning graphic design and Adobe Illustrator skills and I’ve been involved in completing some artwork for a friends band and I’ve bought a mug press so messing with creating my own mugs so it’s all good.   I’m adding a page to my tips today. I learned today that if you’re registered disabled you can have free access to the Tyne Tunnel (thanks to nanna for this info 🙂 ) so will provide a link and info for that.

Leave a comment