Onwards and Upwards

Posted on

Great news yesterday. I met with my consultant to review my progress and to prepare for the start of cycle 3 which began today. Following the first cycle of treatment the para-proteins had dropped from 65 to 33. They are expecting that the reductions will tail of a little so they don’t expect to see such a rapid reduction following cycle 2 but its all good. I’m hoping to get the results from cycle 2 soon.

The third cycle started today and the consultant said he’d expect a minimum of four cycles. He also said that some people can require many more, sometimes up to ten cycles. I don’t really mind how many it takes as long as everything heads in the right direction. The less cycles taken though means I’ll be able to head to the stem cell harvesting and then onto the transplant quicker. I realise that not everyone is offered the stem cell harvesting as it really depends on a number of factors but for me, one of the lucky ones I can’t wait.

Treatment is still going well with very few side effects so I’m in a happy place 🙂

For anyone reading this who is also going through treatment – I hope things are going well. If not chin up and think positive.

be-happy1

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Onwards and Upwards

    Victoria Farley said:
    May 27, 2015 at 5:41 pm

    That’s great news!!

    Like

      geoffduke responded:
      May 27, 2015 at 8:19 pm

      Yep its going great at the minute. Onwards and upwards Vicki

      Like

    helen harrison said:
    May 27, 2015 at 9:45 pm

    That’s fantastic news Geoff! You are an inspiration to us all! Xx

    Like

    Maureen Glendenning said:
    May 27, 2015 at 11:07 pm

    Glad to hear you’re staying positive, it is very important to try to remain this way. My husband has prostate and bone cancer as a secondary and is also staying positive, he has just had surgery to fuse some of the vertebrae in his neck, won’t know whether it is successful for another 5 weeks. Fingers crossed……kind regards……Maureen

    Like

      geoffduke responded:
      May 28, 2015 at 10:01 am

      Fingers crossed for you husband too Maureen. Hope all goes well. Best wishes to you as the one who like my wife will no doubt be the one keeping it all together.

      Kind regards Geoff x

      Like

Leave a comment