Myeloma Awareness Week

Posted on

Its been a while since I touched the blog as I feel there is not much to tell however its Myeloma awareness week it would be a good time to put something down. In addition to that something fantastic happened this morning. My cousin, Tina, whom I’ve not seen in a very long time but keep in touch with on Facebook contacted me today to say she’d been accepted as a stem cell donor. I can’t tell you how chuffed that makes me. During my own transplant I was lucky  that the hospital where able to harvest my own cells. A lady that was with me at the time was not so lucky. They weren’t able to harvest the required mount of cells from her. That meant that unless she could undergo the process until they could get enough cells then she was likely to need a donor like Tina.

Stem cell treatment is being used for all kinds of illnesses now, I read an article recently about how they were using the same procedures to restart the systems of people with MS. I guess that this means that Tina’s fantastic donation could be totally life changing for someone and maybe even life saving for someone else. Its a fantastic gift that can’t be underestimated. For a cancer sufferer like myself stem cells help the body recover after a Treatment of High Dose Therapy. Its better to leave it to the experts to explain things fully so there is a very useful article on the Cancer Research UK website if you want to learn more.

Since my own transplant things have gone reasonably well. The transplant itself has been a total success. My para-protein counts continue to be very low. I have had some issues with fatigue and with continued bone pain, particularly in my back and hips. I also get regular cramping in my hands and legs which may be down to the maintenance dose of chemo I take. Only recently my back seized again and I was back onto two walking sticks. It was extremely depressing as I worried that I was going back to the start however over a few days things have improved a hell of a lot.

My consultant is referring me again to my back consultant so things will get sorted out. I’ve found living with the fatigue very difficult oddly enough. Its sounds as if it wouldn’t be much if an issue feeling tired but its difficult when its taking an age to sort yourself out every day and when your just waiting for bed time to come around again. Its a nightmare for going anywhere as I get exhausted so easily. Its also a constant reminder that my Myeloma is still there. Still I think myself very lucky for being able to handle the treatment I received, including the stem cell transplant and for the ongoing support I’m receiving from the NHS. Some people have it far worse than I do. I am also made up that a family member of mine has put herself forward as a stem cell donor. Thank you Tina Duke your a star. 🙂

If Tina has got you thinking of donating then you can read a little more and watch a short video on the NHS website as well. If you would like to learn a bit more about Myeloma awareness week then hop over to Myeloma.org.uk

Myeloma Awareness Week
yeloma Awareness Week

Leave a comment