CEA Cards

Posted on

This is just a short post regarding CEA cards. I’ve spoken to a few people recently and have been surprised that people aren’t aware of these.

If your illness has rendered you disabled then you may be able to apply for a CEA card https://www.ceacard.co.uk/ Its a scheme that was started in 2004 to help cinemas comply with there requirements for reasonable adjustments. I’ll leave it to them to explain it to you on their website but in a nutshell it means you can take a companion to the cinema with you to help you get around and they get in free. It will cost you £6.00 but one use and it will have paid for itself in most cinemas. Apply online at the website address above.

Whilst I’m on the subject there are also a number of venues that will offer the same sort of assistance. I was able to take my wife with me to a recent gig at the 02 academy just by contacting the venue in advance. I was allocated suitable seating and my wife was there to assist and obviously help me leave the building should anything happen. I have to say that the Academy should be highly commended for their service as it was second to none and we were very grateful to them. We wrote to them afterwards to say so. (that’s the royal we of course as my wife sorted it all as she normally does 🙂 )Its a service they have supplied for a while and of which we’d been told about, not something I got on a whim. If it helps you get out and about and not bee stuck in then you should consider using it. There will be many other places that are as accommodating so its worth checking before you book.

Leave a comment