In or Out of the EU?

Posted on

LONG POST WARNING

I wouldn’t normally post my political views online but the country is probably facing one of its most important votes for some time in the next few months, whether we should remain or leave the EU. I’ve been on the fence for quite some time now, not knowing which way to vote and giving David Cameron the chance to come back from Brussels with some real change.

I’m prepared to accept that the prime minister has tried his best however I have always felt that he was on a hiding to nothing. For me that was driven home when he presented the deal he has. I will be voting to leave the EU which actually surprises me a bit as I didn’t think I would. I don’t think the deal being presented is a real deal at all. Europe has simply given him something to present to the nation that they hope will prevent us from leaving the EU, with no intention of ever granting real concessions.

To highlight a couple of things I picked up on, child benefit will continue to be a exportable benefit which is something I disagree with. There is nothing new in the text I’ve seen. He has also been granted the ability to apply a benefit break for up to seven years under the circumstance of extreme migration.  This alone makes me feel that the likelihood of controlled benefits in the future is not high. I’ve worked with the policy makers of the Tax Credit/Child benefit department for years and they require clear laws rather than ambiguity in laws and they will be heavily lead by the decisions of European court cases. I can’t see there will be much change to the current status of the payment of benefits.

From what I read none of what has been brought back is legally enforceable and can be overruled by the member nations.  Given the fact that there were objections to UK receiving this ‘special status’ in the beginning I think the likelihood of overturned decisions will be high. In specific relation to benefits, it will simply take a few challenges to European courts and we’ll be back to square one.

The text below was taken from the BBC website

What the draft deal said: “The references to an ever closer union among the peoples are… compatible with different paths of integration being available for different member states and do not compel all member states to aim for a common destination.

“It is recognised that the United Kingdom… is not committed to further political integration into the European Union.

“Where reasoned opinions on the non-compliance of a draft union legislative act with the principle of subsidiarity, sent within 12 weeks from the transmission of that draft, represent more than 55% of the votes allocated to the national parliaments, the council presidency will include the item on the agenda of the council for a comprehensive discussion.”

What the final deal said: “It is recognised that the United Kingdom, in the light of the specific situation it has under the Treaties, is not committed to further political integration into the European Union. The substance of this will be incorporated into the Treaties at the time of their next revision in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Treaties and the respective constitutional requirements of the Member States, so as to make it clear that the references to ever closer union do not apply to the United Kingdom.”

On in-work benefits: The Council would authorise that Member State to limit the access of newly arriving EU workers to non-contributory in-work benefits for a total period of up to four years from the commencement of employment. The limitation should be graduated, from an initial complete exclusion but gradually increasing access to such benefits to take account of the growing connection of the worker with the labour market of the host Member State. The authorisation would have a limited duration and apply to EU workers newly arriving during a period of 7 years.

On child benefit: A proposal to amend Regulation (EC) No 883/2004 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the coordination of social security systems in order to give Member States, with regard to the exportation of child benefits to a Member State other than that where the worker resides, an option to index such benefits to the conditions of the Member State where the child resides. This should apply only to new claims made by EU workers in the host Member State. However, as from 1 January 2020, all Member States may extend indexation to existing claims to child benefits already exported by EU workers. The Commission does not intend to propose that the future system of optional indexation of child benefits be extended to other types of exportable benefits, such as old-age pensions;

I also doubt anything received will have any impact on immigration. Freedom of movement is still a key principle held by the EU. A lot of people I speak to confuse the economic migration with those seeking asylum at our borders. A change to EU rules is not going to aide in the reduction of the migration of those seeking asylum or the economic migrants from non EU countries mixed within their numbers. Before the hate mail flows I’m actually in favour of migration which is controlled. We are able to travel between the commonwealth countries to live and work and that is controlled and works fine. I also believe that as a country we are not doing enough to aide those people camped on our borders but again it needs to be controlled admittance. I was horrified recently to find out that there are 400 unaccompanied children living in the ‘Jungle’ in Calais. Those children deserve protection. Is this the EU at its best? I Don’t think so.

In fact I doubt that there are many families that present a security risk to the UK however I do wonder and worry at the number of single males gathering at the borders. For me there is nobody really controlling the current situation and I’d go as far as to predict that in time Europe’s borders will collapse completely.  For me freedom of movement does not work, controlled movement does. I have nothing against people travelling to improve their lives; it stands to reason that they will head to the richer nations. We can afford to do more than we do at the minute but not in an uncontrolled fashion. You cannot complain about the allocation of money to resources when the demand on resources is becoming ever greater. We can’t even say what demand will be on our resources (schooling, NHS, housing, benefits) as we aren’t currently controlling the numbers. We aren’t counting people in and out. And we wonder why our resources are struggling. If we know the numbers then we can plan correctly for them. I would suggest that we should introduce a benefit loan type system (based on student loans). Many complaints are that migrants take from our benefits system without contributing.  Well one solution might be to allow them access to benefits, to be repaid as a deduction of earnings when they are working.

Repayments made either:

  • through HMRC if employed (PAYE deductions) or self-employed (Self Assessment tax return); or
  • directly to UK PLC if living outside the UK.

I would also end the practice of preventing migrants from working while we assess their claims. Cases can take years to settle and is neither of benefit to the nation or to the person seeking asylum.  Many asylum seekers have a lot to offer the UK. If we allowed them to work they may not need financial support. They will only get work if a suitable vacancy exists. A doctor seeking asylum is not going to be the reason a UK builder can’t get a job. Why would it prevent us asking them to leave if we found that their asylum claim couldn’t be supported? Or enforcing their removal where necessary? We will never control EU economic migration while part of the EU in my opinion but again we could ask for benefits to be repaid using the system above if they come and initially fail to find work. We could apply a maximum number of years benefits can be claimed by new entrants before either their state assistance stops or they or asked to leave the UK.

I don’t buy into the reports that Britain could not stand on its own outside of the EU. We are one of the richest economies in the world. Do we really think Europe will not want to trade with us? On the flip side I think that coming out of Europe will allow us greater freedom to trade with the likes of India and China. In addition to this we may have greater power to protect ourselves, with Tariffs, from the dumping of steel by China type situations therefore protecting what little industry this country has left. I accept that there will be a period of uncertainty but I think it’s a risk worth taking. I also accept that a Brexit may also result in the triggering of another Scottish referendum but again I believe it’s a risk worth taking. I’ve always felt that a split would probably be a benefit to the Scottish people. They would also need to consider though that their entry into the EU as an independent nation would not be guaranteed.

In terms of security I’m still unsure on this. I don’t think that being part of the EU makes us any safer or that a Brexit would make us less safe. There are those that argue that the creation of Europe has prevented war. Well it has between European states but it hasn’t prevented us going to war in Iraq, Afghanistan, and Syria to name just a few. Actually didn’t we start bombing Syria as a support to France in the wake of the Paris tragedy? Will a Brexit mean we are bringing the planes home? Also I have heard no mention of NATO. Nobody has said that by leaving the EU we’ll be kicked out of NATO. I would say be very wary of the scaremongering.

I do wonder if a Brexit might actually have a domino effect, with the likes of Greece and Spain following but only time will tell. Of course there will be a huge number of people who disagree with my opinion but I hope everyone will take the time to make up their own minds and at least cast their vote either way in June. Any way that’s my thoughts. Feel free to comment your own. I won’t judge you or attempt to even spark a debate. I’m not trying to convince anyone. I think you should vote the way you feel is right. Besides I only write because I’m currently retired on ill health so have not much better to do with my time. I won’t be running off to join the Brexit campaign now.

Leave a comment